Thoughts on indoor exercise?

So it's been getting pretty cold where I am (I'm studying in Seoul at the moment), especially around my uni campus because it's all just reclaimed land so it's flat with lots of wind. Apparently, there's a lot of snow during the winter too. 

I have so much respect for people who trudge through conditions worse than this to keep on with their running/cycling routines, but it's really not practical for me to do that because I'm aiming for a scholarship and I really can't afford to get ill or injured. I've also jumped into running while starting the HCLF vegan lifestyle and my foot's been bothering me a bit, so I've started to stay in the gym on campus for exercise, using the treadmill/ cycling machine/ elliptical.

So, what do you all think about using these machines for cardio? I'm guessing it isn't ideal, but they're what I've got to work with. I know how much Durianrider/Harley advocates cycling, as far as saying that it's way better than running, so I'm going to try to get more into that... but will I get results that are way inferior than getting out there and riding a real bike? There are no real hills here, like I mentioned before, so perhaps the cycling machine would be a better option anyway because I can up the resistance? I don't know... haha. The elliptical also seems to get a lot of bad rap, but it's all from the HIIT/P90X protein powder+pre-workout sellouts so I want to know what you guys think! :) 

Thanks for reading the somewhat long post!

You need to be a member of The Frugivore Diet to add comments!

Join The Frugivore Diet

Email me when people reply –

Replies

• If you have access to a gym, you can experiment and see what works for you.